top of page

The Meaning Of A Rose

My mom and I were on a walk tonight, and we came upon a rose bush. All the other roses on the bush were shriveled, except for this one particular rose... the most incredible rose I've ever seen. It was thriving and literally beaming from within. I couldn't get over how pretty it was, and how happy it seemed. I know what your thinking... "It's a damn flower lady! They don't have feelings!" And you're right. But lately I've been thinking about life a little deeper. And when I looked at this flower I saw me. Having Retinitis Pigmentosa and inching closer and closer to becoming blind has allowed me to see the beauty of what most "normal sighted" people take for granted. Some days I feel like shriveling up like those other roses, but then I see this AMAZING, BEAUTIFUL, & STRONG rose ... and I remember that I've been put here for a reason. Even with my condition, I can THRIVE... just like that rose. After our walk, I made a promise to myself -- Never take life for granted. Never forget all the beautiful things and places I have seen. Some days may make me want to shrivel up, but others like today make me want to see everything I possibly can in the time I am given.💜

(Picture is of the rose I saw.)


bottom of page